Angel Names...

Within the Bible there are only three angels that are named, Michael, Gabriel (and Abbadon*). More angel names are revealed in writings such as the Apocrypha. As these other writings are not part of the canonized Bible I will leave you to evaluate their accuracy. It is interesting to note that so many of the angels names end in "el" which is a Hebrew reference to God's might or power. Connect this thought to the fact that we are told that God will give the Saints a new name Rev. 2:17 just as He did with Abram and Sarai Gen. 17:5,15. God inserted part of His name into their names. God added the Hebrew letter "H" from YHWH to both their names and thus they became Abraham and Sarah.

Angels listed in the Bible:


Michael – whose name means “who is like God”. Please refer to the comments on Michael under the "Angel - Subjects" and in the "in depth study" portion of this website.


Gabriel – whose name means “mighty God”. Please refer to the comments on Gabriel under the "Angel - Subjects" and in the "in depth study" portion of this website.

Abbadon – In the Hebrewb this Angel is named Abbadon meaning "destruction". His name in the New Testament in Greek is Apollyon which means "destroyer" and it is only mentioned once in Revelations 9:11. Please refer to the comments regarding Abbadon and in general the "Angels of Evil" in the "in depth study" class #5 portion of this website. (*Note: Some commentaries suggest that the reference in Revelation to Apollyon actually refers to Mohammed or Vespasian and not a literal angel.)

Other Angels listed outside of the Bible:


Raphael – whose name means “God heals”
-(From the book of Tobias. The Book of Tobias, as it is called in the Latin Vulgate Bible, is also known in the Greek Septuagint as the Book of Tobit. Both the Semitic origin of the book and the name Tobiah, which means "Yahweh is my god," have been appreciated since antiquity. The discovery of five scrolls of Tobit - in both Hebrew and Aramaic was among the Dead Sea Scrolls in Cave IV. The Book itself is one of the most delightful books of Hebrew Scripture, and serves as part of the Historical Books in the Old Testament of the Bible.)

-Tobit 12:15 names Raphael as "one of the seven who stand before the Lord." See. Rev. 8:2.


Uriel – whose name means “God is light”

-The Book of Enoch mentions Uriel in many of the component books. In Chapter 9 which is part of "The Book of the Watchers" four Angels are mentioned by name these are Michael, Uriel, Raphael, and Gabriel. Later Chapter 20 lists the name and function of seven archangels these are "Uriel, one of the holy angels, who is over the world and over Tartarus", Raphael, Raguel, Michael, Saraqâêl, Gabriel, and Remiel. -Uriel also appears in the Second Book of Esdras found in the Apocrypha section of many bibles in which the prophet Ezra asks God a series of questions, and Uriel is sent by God to instruct him.


Raguel – whose name means “Friend of God”

-Raguel is referred to as the archangel of justice, fairness and harmony. In the Book of Enoch Raguel is one of the seven archangels whose function is to take vengeance on the world of the luminaries who have transgressed God's laws. Raguel brings a course of fire which persecutes all the fallen luminaries. Raguel also shows Enoch The Seven Mountains and in the midst of it- the high mountain which is the throne of God where the Lord of Glory will sit along with the tree of wisdom. Raguel is found in the Revelation of John as the angel of the church in Philadelphia (Rev 3:7). This angel can also be attributed to the sixth angel (Rev 9:14).


Remiel – whose name means “mercy or compassion of God”


Saraqael – Traditionally considered the Angel of Death.

-In 1 Enoch, he is one of the four holy archangels who is "of eternity and trembling".




Enoch 20:1-8 “And these are the names of the holy angels who watch. Uriel, one of the holy angels, who is over the world and over Tartarus. Raphael, one of the holy angels, who is over the spirits of men. Raguel, one of the holy angels who takes vengeance on the world of the luminaries. Michael, one of the holy angels, to wit, he that is set over the best part of mankind and over chaos. Saraqael, one of the holy angels, who is set over the spirits, who sin in the spirit. Gabriel, one of the holy angels, who is over Paradise and the serpents and the Cherubim. Remiel, one of the holy angels, whom God set over those who rise.”


Enoch 40:8-10 “After that I asked the angel of peace who went with me, who showed me everything that is hidden: 'Who are these four presence’s which I have seen and whose words I have heard and written down?' And he said to me: 'This first is Michael, the merciful and long-suffering: and the second, who is set over all the diseases and all the wounds of the children of men, is Raphael: and the third, who is set over all the powers, is Gabriel: and the fourth, who is set over the repentance unto hope of those who inherit eternal life, is named Phanuel.' And these are the four angels of the Lord of Spirits and the four voices I heard in those days.”

Note that Uriel and Phanuel may be different names for the same archangel because according to Enoch they both have the same function, which is assisting those who are heirs of eternal life.